Showing posts with label Sarah Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sarah Review. Show all posts

Monday, January 29, 2018

Review: Diaper Duty Vampire

Diaper Duty Vampire by R. E. Mullins
Vampires of Amber Heights Book 1
Published December 11, 2017 by The Wild Rose Press
Reviewed by Sarah
5 BABY FANGS!

Synopsis:

During the Civil War, Union soldier, John Alden took a musket ball to the gut. As he gasped his final breath, he was turned into a vampire and started life anew in Amber Heights, Missouri. For over one hundred and fifty years, he's lived a rather solitary life as a vampire Enforcer. 

Young single mother, Joann Clarkson, needs a job and fast. Hoping to be rehired, she returns to Dr. Michaela Blautsauger's lab prepared to eat a hefty helping of humble pie. She comes to regret that decision when she's taken hostage. Things look grim but she'll never stop fighting to escape. Her son needs his mama. 

As an Enforcer, John must hunt down the vampire who kidnapped Joann. In his search, John winds up babysitting her toddler Cody. Changing diapers might be worse than getting staked, but nothing compares to how he feels when both mother and child fall into danger again.


Diaper Duty Vampire (Vampires of Amber Heights Book 1)Diaper Duty Vampire by R E Mullins
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was a cute book- very different than most stuff out there. The main character was adorable, you can tell he's a "mans man" but facing down a toddler was just his perfect match to unbalance his manliness- at first. The tasks told of what he goes through was amazing to read in the sense that a man almost NEVER has to deal with what he did and he tackled it head on and almost perfectly. This book cracked me up at his cluelessness (if that is even a word) with what taking care of a toddler actually requires and it was so great to read. Of course when the mom is introduced into the mix I totally understood her concerns as a mother as well and the scenario she was in. The chemistry between them was sweet and not BAM in your face- I thought it was really well written to be honest. This is a great book and I'm interested to see where the next book will take us.

Reviewed by Sarah of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Review: Return of the Lycan King Trilogy

Return of the Lycan King by Candace Blackburn
Nicholas and Kristen Book 1
RePublished January 16, 2018
Reviewed by Sarah
5 HOWLING MOONS!!!

Synopsis-

One life, one mate. Nicholas Konstantine has been waiting over a thousand years for his mate. But when he finds her, she's completely unaware of her Lycan biology, and she's battling her own personal demons. 

Kristen O'Connor is a recovering addict, with some major trust issues. By not letting anyone get close, she won't get hurt. Yet after one meeting with Nicholas, her walls are crumbling, and she wants more with this man. 

But Nicholas reveals his Lycan side, and hers as well. In addition, ghosts from both of their pasts come back to haunt them. Will they face everything together, or will Kristen's fears be stronger than her love?


Return of the Lycan King: Nicholas and KristenReturn of the Lycan King: Nicholas and Kristen by Candace Blackburn
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was a first read of this author for me and I absolutely LOVED IT! I cannot wait for the next book but it looks like it might be a while since this was published in 2015. The chemistry between Nicolas and Kristen was hot. I loved how real Kristen's character was with the flaws she was dealing with mainly in her mind as she had overcome her issues. For me I love when books such of this nature still have very real human characteristics and then those with some of the harder to relate to make it just more believable in my opinion. As normal with mates it is instant attraction, but with Kristen being raised human she doesn't quite understand it which I think is a universal thing when it comes to the "perfect man" showing interest in you. The side characters were perfect and I love the twists throughout the book and they were done just right. Yes there is a cliffhanger but it wasn't the worst one I've read but it will definitely leave the mind reeling.

Reviewed by Sarah of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Friday, November 24, 2017

Review: The Passion of Cleopatra

The Passion of Cleopatra by Anne Rice & Christopher Rice
Ramses The Damned Book 2
Published November 21, 2017 by Anchor
Reviewed by Sarah
4 Immortal Stars

Synopsis -

From the iconic and bestselling author of The Mummy and The Vampire Chronicles, a mesmerizing, glamorous new tale of ancient feuds and modern passions.
Ramses the Great, former pharaoh of Egypt, is reawakened by the elixir of life in Edwardian England. Now immortal with his bride-to-be, he is swept up in a fierce and deadly battle of wills and psyches against the once-great Queen Cleopatra. Ramses has reawakened Cleopatra with the same perilous elixir whose unworldly force brings the dead back to life. But as these ancient rulers defy one another in their quest to understand the powers of the strange elixir, they are haunted by a mysterious presence even older and more powerful than they, a figure drawn forth from the mists of history who possesses spectacular magical potions and tonics eight millennia old. This is a figure who ruled over an ancient kingdom stretching from the once-fertile earth of the Sahara to the far corners of the world, a queen with a supreme knowledge of the deepest origins of the elixir of life. She may be the only one who can make known to Ramses and Cleopatra the key to their immortality—and the secrets of the miraculous, unknowable, endless expanse of the universe.


The Passion of Cleopatra (Ramses the Damned, #2)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was my first book of Anne Rice (I know shocker!) and I did enjoy it. The book had wonderful imagery written in to make it feel like you were at each location when it was described in the book. The spin on the characters was fantastic but I feel like it also honored them in its own way but not making it seem like satire almost if that makes sense. As it is the second book in the series and I jumped in assuming it was a first in the series I was able to follow along without too much confusion so it can definitely be read as a stand alone, although I do plan on going back to read the first so I have a better idea of Ramses full story from the start- in her books/world/series.

Reviewed by Sarah of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Review: Intensity

Intensity by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Chronicles of Nick Book 8
Published September 5, 2017 by St. Martin's Griffin
Reviewed by Sarah
4 Bloody Fangs

Synopsis:

It’s a demon-eat-demon world for Nick Gautier. Just when he thinks he’s finally gotten a handle on how not to take over the world and destroy it, Death returns with an all-star cast that is determined to end the Malachai reign and lineage forever. Worse? Death and War have found the one, true enemy Nick can’t find, and even if he did, it’s one he could never bring himself to banish or kill.

Now framed for murders he hasn’t committed, and surrounded by new friends who might be turncoats, Nick is learning fast how his father went down in flames.

The heat in New Orleans is rising fast, and Nick’s threat-level has gone into a whole new level of intensity. He’s learning fast that when War and Death decide to battle, they don’t take prisoners. The don’t negotiate. And they’re both immune to his biting sarcasm and Cajun charm. To win this, he will have to embrace a new set of powers, but one wrong step, and he will belong to the side of Darkness, forever.
  (Goodreads)


Review:

I'm a huge fan of Sherrilyn and I absolutely adore Nick but this book for some reason couldn't keep my attention long. It wasn't for lack of good story or writing which was as usual for Sherrilyn top notch but more of a it just felt drawn out for some reason. There were certain parts that felt as if it could have been written in a different manner or shortened in length but over all it was a good read. Will I continue this series? Maybe not- it might just be that my tastes are starting to change but it wasn't due to her lack of material, imagination, or writing methods but more of a it feels weird to still be reading teen/ young adult books now that my own kids are old enough to start reading these.

Reviewed by Sarah of the GothicMoms Review Team

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Review: Alpha's Temptation

Alpha's Temptation by Renee Rose & Lee Savino
Bad Boy Alpha's Book 1
Published July 21, 2017 by Burning Desires
Reviewed by Sarah
4 Howls!



Synopsis:


I’m a lone wolf, and I like it that way. Banished from my birth pack after a bloodbath, I never wanted a mate. 


Then I meet Kylie. My temptation. We’re trapped in an elevator together, and her panic almost makes her pass out in my arms. She’s strong, but broken. And she’s hiding something. 



My wolf wants to claim her. But she’s human, and her delicate flesh won't survive a wolf's mark. 



I'm too dangerous. I should stay away. But when I discover she's the hacker who nearly took down my company, I demand she submit to my punishment. And she will. 



Kylie belongs to me. 



Publisher’s Note: The Alpha’s Temptation is a stand-alone book in the Bad Boy Alpha’s series. HEA guaranteed, no cheating. This book contains a hot, demanding alpha wolf with a penchant for protecting and dominating his female. If such material offends you, do not buy this book. (Goodreads)


Review:

This was a new read for me from this author but I did enjoy it. The only reason I have it as 4 vs. 5 was just little things that personally irritated me but that's just more about me than the actual book itself.

The two main characters were a good match. Jackson, or JT, was an arrogant man just needing to be taught a lesson on humanity. Whereas Kylie, or KK, was still a woman growing into her own. Both characters were incredibly smart and as usual the man was lagging behind not wanting to step up and admit feelings- go figure. The attraction was strong between the two, but it wasn't a very big obvious thing in my opinion- I personally could have used a little more, as it was the scenes were too in depth or long as I would have liked between the 2. It seemed that while JT was the older of the two, that KK was more mature and grown with her actions and decisions, which I enjoyed in a lead, but it was frustrating with the resistance from JT. Some parts just based off how JT was presented were rather predictable in the story line which I wish would have had me guessing a little more. The only other thing that bothered me was "Mr. X" which I personally couldn't get over due to the BDB having a similar character/description.

I will for sure keep reading this author though to see how other works compare as aside from the couple of issues I wish were different (i.e. more romance/love scenes, less predictable) it was a very well written book that I enjoyed and kept my attention straight on this read.

From My Author Page...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GothicMoms Updates