Showing posts with label Rose Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Rose Review. Show all posts

Friday, September 8, 2017

Review: The Censors Hand

The Censor's Hand by A. M. Steiner
Thrice-Crossed Swords Trilogy Book 1
Published May 18th 2017 by Ptolemy Publishing UK
Reviewed by Rose
4 Magical Stars

Synopsis:

“We do not dabble with magic; we capture it, structure it and sell it.”

So claim the powerful masters of the Honourable Company of Cunning. Operating from the forbidding island of the Convergence, their arcane works have reshaped society. Now a censor, a guardian of justice, has been murdered in their midst and a terrifying conspiracy will be revealed.

Miranda, one of the hundred adopted daughters of the Dowager Duchess, wants nothing more than to become a master of the cunning arts. Only a fool would doubt her genius, but never before has a woman been permitted to wield such power.

Jonathan faces ruin. The sails of his mill haven’t turned since the Company diverted the winds of Bromwich to their advantage. He’s always been a devout and law-abiding man. How far will he go to protect his family from destitution and the gangsters at his doorstep? (Goodreads)

If Daniel, his brother, passes the tests to become a censor, maybe he could protect them. He might even get the chance to make amends for what happened to their sister. But in the real world, justice is elusive, and the damage of the past can rarely be undone.
 

Review:

This is the first book in the Thrice Crosses Swords trilogy, and the first I have read from this author. The beginning is well laid out and really hooks you in. The story follows three main characters journey. 

The flow is smooth and well developed world building leading up to more to come. A solid fantasy for the adult reader. 

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Review: Before She Ignites

Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows
Fallen Isles Trilogy Book 1
Publication Date September 12, 2017 by Katherine Tegan Books
Reviewed by Rose
5 MAGICAL STARS!!

Synopsis:

Before

Mira Minkoba is the Hopebearer. Since the day she was born, she’s been told she’s special. Important. Perfect. She’s known across the Fallen Isles not just for her beauty, but for the Mira Treaty named after her, a peace agreement which united the seven islands against their enemies on the mainland.

But Mira has never felt as perfect as everyone says. She counts compulsively. She struggles with crippling anxiety. And she’s far too interested in dragons for a girl of her station.

After

Then Mira discovers an explosive secret that challenges everything she and the Treaty stand for. Betrayed by the very people she spent her life serving, Mira is sentenced to the Pit–the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles. There, a cruel guard would do anything to discover the secret she would die to protect.

No longer beholden to those who betrayed her, Mira must learn to survive on her own and unearth the dark truths about the Fallen Isles–and herself–before her very world begins to collapse. (Goodreads)


Review:

Oh wow. What did I just read? It was like Game Of Thrones (minus the adult theme) meets, Mortal Instruments, meets Divergent. The time going back and forth threw me a bit at first. I still would have preferred it be lumped in order, in the beginning to make the flow smoother. However, flow it did. The present was fast paced and nail biting. For those who did not finish this book, they missed out. Truly. There was a hint of romance, but no true romance in this one. The thing that got me is bam it ended. No warning, but at least there is some closure to a piece, but it did leave mannnny questions. A great first start, I hope there is many more to follow. Awesome read form a new to me author. 

Monday, September 4, 2017

Review: Blood Renegades

Blood Renegades by Rosemary A. Johns
Rebel Vampires Book 3
Published June 13, 2017 by Fantasy Rebel Limited
Reviewed by Rose
4 Fangs!

Synopsis:

Light – rebel, lover, anti-hero – will be burnt at the stake in fourteen days. When he’s accused of being a terrorist Renegade in paranormal London, his bewitching Blood Life Council interrogator offers a deal: one secret a night.

Facing both human and vampire enemies, secret alliances and betrayal, Light struggles with whether he’s a hero, or about to fall back into his true vampire nature. Soon, Light’s in a race against time to transform into the leader vital to save his family, home, and love. But will he be able to judge predator from prey?

Light must make the ultimate choice: safety and slavery in the shadows, or freedom and death in the light…

Blood Renegades is the thrilling third installment of the supernatural suspense series REBEL VAMPIRES written by award-winning author Rosemary A Johns. (Goodreads)


Review:

This is the third book in the series. I would recommend reading the first two books before reading this one. This third installment is by far my favorite of the series. It flowed a bit smoother, and I think by now the slang that's peppered throughout is not bothersome. I would have loved a glossary in all the books in the series. The British slang is just not something everyone will know, I think it would make for a more enjoyable read for readers from other countries. This format is in a journal format but with more dialogue. More dialogue to me is much better. It is just reads more smoothly to me. 

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Review: Forbidden Bite

Forbidden Bite by Cynthia Eden
Bite Book 1
Published June 16, 2017 by Hocus Pocus Publishing
Reviewed by Rose
5 Bloody Fangs!!

Synopsis:

“Don’t look into her eyes. If you do, she’ll take your soul.” 

Werewolf Griffin Romeo has new prey—a sexy female vamp named Isabella has been hunting in Sin City, and it’s Griffin’s job to stop her. Tracking Isabella is easy work for an alpha wolf, but once he gets close to gorgeous Isabella…Griffin’s careful plans go straight to hell. Because with one bite, he’s absolutely hooked on her, lost…mated. 

Vamps and werewolves are supposed to be sworn enemies. They aren’t supposed to feel a white-hot attraction that burns soul deep. Now that he’s found his mate, Griffin isn’t about to let Isabella go, especially not when he learns that Isabella isn’t the killer who is attacking humans in Vegas. Griffin’s mate has been set-up, and he’ll fight with a wolf’s fury to find the enemy who is working against them both. Someone wants Isabella to be judged guilty by the wolves in Vegas, but Griffin won’t let that happen. 

Their mating may be forbidden, but Griffin and Isabella are about to show the paranormal world just how fiercely a vamp and werewolf can fight for each other—because mates bond forever. And nothing will come between them. 

Author’s Note: FORBIDDEN BITE is a short, sexy story (32,000 words) about one hot werewolf and his sexy vamp mate. Lust comes first (and fast!) in this tale, and then love is close behind. If you enjoy a hero who will gladly sacrifice everything for his lady, hot times, and a happy ending…then maybe you should take a BITE. (Goodreads)


Review:

This one is a short story, but a well written one. I tried to savor it , I really did. I usually  don't prefer short stories because they usually lack backstory and lots of plot. This one had loads of details, backstory and lots of heat. It flows smooth and left me wanting more, but satisfied. The characters are developed and continue to do so throughout the story.  Wolves and Vamps, my favorite, even if they are forbidden to bite. 

Saturday, August 12, 2017

Review: WereBiker

WereBiker by Paige Cuccaro
Publication Date September 12, 2017 by Swerve
Reviewed by Rose
5 HOWLS!!!





Synopsis:

Years after she thought she left town for good, Jillian is back and has enlisted the help of her older brother’s ex-best friend (and the man who broke her heart), Jack, to track down her sister-in-law, who’s fallen in with a rival biker gang—but Jack knows they’re werewolves, and that he has to protect Jillian at any cost, even if she hates him. (Goodreads)








Review:

This is not your ordinary Jack and Jill story. Jill’s brother asked her to help check up on his wayward wife, little do they know the can of worms that simple question will cause. This is the first I have read of this author, and I was not disappointed. If you love werewolves, you will devour this in one sitting like I did.

The sizzle factor is off the charts! The characters are well developed and continue to grow throughout the entire book. The flow is smooth and you will be poked from page one. Even the characters you don't really care for, Carrie the wayward sister in law, you will end up rooting for. She falls into thrall of the Alpha, and her battle to be free is real. I loved Jill’s spunk. Don't mess with a woman on a mission. Jack is a tortured soul, the kind of dark broody we love. I can't recommend this shifter book enough. I hope there will be more to come, I’d love to follow the rest of the pack to be there for their HEA.

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Review: Drift

Drift by Amy Murray
Publication Date August 28, 2017 by Entangled
Reviewed by Rose
5 Stars from the Past


Synopsis:


I’m not crazy. My mother may have died with everyone believing she was insane, but I refuse to accept that as my fate. Even if I am recalling memories about a life I never lived. A life that includes the mysterious James—a guy I’ve only just met, but feel as if I’ve known all my life. The memories are coming hard and fast, and I’m falling down a rabbit hole with consequences that far exceed anything I could have ever imagined. And now, someone is trying to kill me. 


Someone from my past who knows about my visions and is looking for something he believes I took from him. All I have to do is figure out how these memories relate to the present and maybe I’ll survive to live another day. (Goodreads)


Review:


Wow, just wow. I read this in one entire sitting. I just couldn't put it down. Who needs sleep, right? From moment one, page one I was hooked.  There was no way I think I could have waited to find out everything. But be prepared you will get a case of the feels. Its like Outlander meets Dr Who. There is mystery, murder, mayhem, with a dish of romance, and just WTF moments.  The past is not 18th century Scotland, but 1920’s Texas. The author is new to me, and I must say I will be following her work from now on. The story flowed very well, with the time alterations smoothly and was seamlessly done. You know how sometimes with time travel books where there is a rift or the shift doesn't read well, this book did not have any of those flaws. I knew when I was in the past, I knew when I was in the present. The characters were very well developed. The plot well thought out. A joy to read. 


So many twists and turns. A few thing will lead you to tears, some will raise your eyebrows to your hairline, others will have you thinking uh huh right. The main characters were James, a painter with a few extra talents, Abby, the gal with the mostest (I think anyways), and Collin (aka Mack or as I call him McDreamy). I think while James was perfect for Abby, I could not get over the connection I felt with Mack. His story, past and present, really gets you in the heart strings. Is he perfect, no he is not. Is anyone, who knows. I really was rooting for him in the end, but was satisfied with the major characters outcomes, as I felt it did give some sort of closure or redemption if for a better word.  
A solid five star read. I recommend you get comfy because you will not be going anywhere once you start this awesome book. I hope the story continues in future books, as this concept is a brilliant one. 

Friday, August 4, 2017

Review: Blood Dragons

Blood Dragons by Rosemary A Johns
Rebel Vampires Book 1
Published August 3, 2016 by CreateSpace
Reviewed by Rose
3 Fangs

Synopsis:

How do you rebel in a family of vampires..? 

In a divided paranormal London, Light is the bad boy vampire of the Blood Lifer world with a photographic memory, a Triton motorbike, and a love for the hunt. Since Victorian times he’s hidden in the shadows with Ruby - a savage Elizabethan Blood Lifer. But he’s keeping a secret from her that breaks every rule. 

1960s London. Kathy is a seductive singer but she’s also human. Light is tempted by the danger, even though their romance is forbidden. When the two worlds collide, it could mean the end. For both species.

When Light discovers his ruthless family’s horrifying experiments, he questions whether he should be slaying or saving the humans he’s always feared. Unless Light plays the part of hero, he risks losing everything. Including the two women he loves.

A rebel, a red-haired devil and a Moon Girl battle to save the world – or tear it apart.

“INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE MEETS TRUE BLOOD.”

Fans of Night Huntress, Immortals After Dark, Anita Blake, Fever and Blood Dagger Brotherhood will LOVE the spellbinding secret world of Blood Life.

Blood Dragons is the explosive bestselling first instalment of the supernatural suspense series Rebel Vampires from the award-winning fantasy author Rosemary A Johns. Experience a thrilling new adventure with vampires, unputdownable surprises and dark romance. (Goodreads)

Welcome to the Rebel Age!
http://viewbook.at/BloodDragons


Review:

Light, a bad boy vampire of the Blood Lifer world, has been hiding in the shadows of paranormal London since Victorian times. His only company? A savage Elizabethan Blood lifer. And he’s keeping a secret from her that breaks every rule.

London, 1960s. When a seductive human singer tempts Light with a forbidden romance, their worlds collide. At the same time, Light discovers his ruthless family’s horrifying experiments. Now he’s torn between slaying the humans he was raised to fear, or saving them.

But an effort to play the hero could spell the end…for both species.

This is the first I have read from this author, and while the writing itself was not bad, but having it in a form of monologue, soliloquy, journal to a lover,  or whatever that was, was just down right painful. It didn't really draw me in, just kept right at arms length, very detached. Because Light was not addressing the reader, just his love in her dying state of the life they had in his recounting. To some it just may be your thing, but I need a little more from books. Which is sad because I could see talent from this author. I do have the others, and do plan to giving them a go, just to see if the style is more to my liking.

Oh, don't forget to brush up on British slang, because it's riddled with them. I thought even though I am from America I could figure most out, as I have read British authors before, some threw me for a loop. Some are just not what you really come into contact with day to day. Slang in books is ok, but there is a point that it is just too much, that goes for American slang as well. Maybe it is me, I don't think that I would deter from buying the books due to that fact alone. 

I did love the touch of world building in this first installment. I would have loved more details. Overall, my opinion is this is a good start to a series from a new to me author. 

Review by Rose

From My Author Page...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GothicMoms Updates