Showing posts with label Janet Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Janet Review. Show all posts

Monday, September 11, 2017

Spotlight & Review: Guardian Unforgiven





Guardian Unforgiven
Book One
Nollen Bradley

Genre: Werewolf Erotic Thriller

Date of Publication: 7-05-2017

ASIN:  9781521565940

Number of pages: 241
Word Count: 81,290

Cover Artist: Nollen Bradley

Book Description:

Family secrets are hard to hide, sometimes they claw their way out.

The werewolf, most believe to be folklore or legend. For centuries, the existence of werewolves were kept secret and guarded by a warrior class of lycan descended from a fierce ancient line known as the Guardians. These Guardians, sworn to uphold the peace between the wolf and humans. But, some werewolves not satisfied with living in secrecy start lashing out, hunting and killing all with the ancient gene to push humanity into extinction.

Now, only a few descendants are left with the cursed bloodline, some don’t even know they have it…   

Amazon Print     Amazon Kindle       Smashwords       24 Symbols     BN


4 Howling Stars Review

A nice twist on the werewolf lore with these special Guardians. Mark has no knowledge of his ancestry till he meets a local woman named Page. Things get complicated fast as Mark gets drawn deeper into the thick of it. I love how he hears a rock song playing in his head that seems to fit the situation he is in at any given time. The love scenes are just the right touch of hot and sexy for paranormal romance fans. 

Descriptive when it comes to explaining the transformation from human to wolf, so it gives the reader a vivid picture of how it takes place. These werewolves are unpredictable, and the battle to survive in this world is great. This has one heck of an ending. I'm not sure if this is a standalone, but I believe it is. I would love to see more books with Guardians because I think it deserves a little more exploring. Here's hoping for more!     

Reviewed by Janet

Excerpt 4


"... Warmed by the fire but still soaked from the rain. I feel her fingernails gently scratch my back, starting from my right scapula, diagonally down to my doused jeans. The tingling pain released unknown desire. As her hands moved, placing them on my shoulders, she stepped closer to me. The moment her body touched mine, her feel was different than before. Warmer, delicate but commanding."

About the Author:

Nollen Bradley is a pen name for Bradley Noll an American author residing near Leavenworth Kansas. The married, father of two grown children is new to the published author scene even though he has been writing song lyrics, poems and short stories all of his life.

Brad grew up on a farm outside of Winchester Kansas learning the value of hard work. Following college, Brad spent twelve years as a Paramedic until his second back surgery ending his successful career where he received several letters of commendation.

Brad spent time farming in his off days feeling the everyday pressures of the weather, markets and juggling the debt that is associated with large business. Brad also spent several years as an amateur Rodeo Clown (Bullfighter) working several local rodeos in the IPRA circuit. All the while, continuing to write songs and preform at local venues. Following a music CD he produced named “Make Believe” with eleven of his original songs and while in the process of producing his second Album he realized his talent was more suited for writing then music.

Brad takes the experience from the sweat stinging his eyes from the heat on a hot July day in Kansas. The heartache from having to tell a parent or a child that their loved one has died and there was nothing he could do, to the struggles of trying to pursue a dream and watching it crumble in front of him.

Brad has developed a style that draws on real life experiences to provided exciting yet believable story lines that captivate readers. Writing unbelievable tales with the realism of the struggles from everyday life in the painful cookie cutter suburban age. 




a Rafflecopter giveaway


Saturday, August 19, 2017

Review: Undiscovered

Undiscovered by Sara Haumphreys
Amoveo Rising Book 1
Published March 7, 2017 by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Reviewed by Janet
5 BREATHS OF FIRE!

Synopsis:

He's the man of her dreams
A long time ago, Zander Lorens was cursed to walk the earth stripped of his Dragon Clan powers. Every night, trapped in a recurring nightmare, Zander relives his darkest moment. He can hardly believe it when the dream changes and a beautiful young woman appears. Zander believes she's the key to ending his torment. Finding her in the real world is one thing, but how will he convince her of who-and what-she really is?

She's the end to his nightmare
Rena McHale uses her unique sensitivity as a private investigator, touting herself as a "human divining rod" and finder of the lost. By day she struggles with sensory overload, and by night her sleep is haunted by a fiery dragon shifter. Nothing in her life makes sense, until the man from her dreams shows up at her door with a proposition... (Goodreads)


Review: 

Wow! A truly remarkable shifter novel. This is the first book kicking off the Amoveo Rising series. The first chapter will have you glued to your seats and your heart racing. Zander is one dragon who will not only melt your panties but your heart as well. He is centuries old and hot as sin. Rena, a strong protagonist, is quite unique in her abilities and is searching for answers about her gift. The spirit streams that Rena references really piqued my interest. Zander and Rena sizzle the pages while Zander sets out to help his twin brother. 

You don't often come across dragon shifters, so this is a great chance for paranormal romance fans to pick up something different. Give me a nicely developed plot and a happily ever after, and I'm a happy camper. This is a new-to-me author, so now I can't wait to delve into her other books. It seems I have a lot of catching up to do. Oh, what fun!  

Sunday, August 13, 2017

Review: Crossroads In The Dark

Crossroads In The Dark by Frank Martin, Samantha Alexandra, Edward Kenyon, Ellen Denton, DM Slate, David Owain Hughes, Shaun Phelps, CC Adams, Jonathan Shipley, AJ Brown, Alice J. Black, JC Michael, Adrian Ludens, Sergio Palumbo, Peter Oliver Wonder, Audrey Brice, Lisa Lepovetsky, Carl Alves, Kevin Bannigan Jr., Richard Farren Barber, Donna Marie West, Veronica Smith, John Pham 
Published October 30, 2015 by Burning Willow Press
Reviewed by Janet
5 Bloodcurling Screams!



Synopsis:


How many lives would you say matter to you? How much would you take for yourself to merely get by if it were free? At what cost would you allow someone other than yourself to succeed, to prosper, and to get ahead? What would you sacrifice to help someone less fortunate? 


When the stakes are at their highest and the line you must cross could end up being the one that ends your life what are you willing to do? 

This collection of stories tests boundaries of your vulnerabilities, the human will to survive, and the facade we put on for the rest of the world. "Crossroads in the Dark" probes the darkest parts of the soul with over twenty tales of the macabre, making you ask... 

What would you do? (Goodreads)


Review:

A terrifying taste of the macabre within these short but powerful stories. These authors captured perfectly the lengths some people will go to in order to keep their secrets. You may find yourself holding your breath in anticipation of what will happen next. Each author brings something to the table, and readers get a dose of their unique writing style. 

I'm not a fan of anthologies in general, but this gets a big thumbs up for originality and amazing talent. Hold on to your seats because this is one wild ride you don't want to miss! 

Reviewed by Janet      

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Review: Dreaming of a White Wolf Christmas

Dreaming of a White Wolf Christmas by Terry Spear
Heart of the Wolf Book 23
Publication Date October 3, 2017
Reviewed by Janet
4 Howls



Synopsis:

In the first installment of Terry Spear's bold, sexy White Wolf series, a romance writer's life is changed forever when a white puppy bites her and turns her into an Arctic wolf shifter.

May all your Christmas wolves be bright...
Romance writer Candice Mayfair never missed a deadline in her life--until the playful bite of a werewolf puppy accidentally turns her into an Arctic wolf shifter. Talk about a life-changing event! Candice is at the end of her rope with the unpredictable shifting, a strong desire to howl, and the need to vacuum constantly to keep the shedding fur under control.

Enter werewolf private investigator Owen Nottingham. Owen has a new mission: convince the pretty she-wolf she needs to join his pack in time for Christmas...and be his mate. It's the only way he can think of to keep her safe...

White Wolf Series: 
Dreaming of a White Wolf Christmas (Book 1)
Flight of the White Wolf (Book 2) (Goodreads)


Review:

Loved these wolves! The beautiful Minnesota setting is captured perfectly. Owen and his friends are a peaceful wolf pack who only want to live their lives hidden among humans. I think Candice is just right for Owen, and the developing romance fits with the story line. The secondary characters are great, and I can't wait for the other bachelor wolves to get their book, especially David. Appearances from other shifters will have fans rejoicing and anxiously awaiting future books.   

Monday, July 31, 2017

Review: The Painting of Martel

The Painting of Martel by L. Bachman
Published May 2017
Review by Janet
5 Bloodcurling Screams!



Synopsis:

Items and oddities connected to the occult make for quite a dangerous atmosphere, but Damon can’t help liking what he likes. Kenneth, his roommate, finds it all strange and has been keeping more and more to himself as Damon’s obsession grows in intensity. Coming across a book about a clown entertainer and serial killer known as the Painted Face Killer, Damon is smitten with the fact that the killer was also an amateur painter. It was this pastime that helped investigators locate many of the Painted Face Killer’s victims with the help of his final artwork, but it was the painting itself that captured Damon’s attentions.

After discovering the painting is for sale, Damon wants it more than any oddity ever collected, but after purchasing it, he begins having nightmares of the killer speaking to him. James Martel has been looking for the perfect vessel—any willing one—and Kenneth suffers Damon’s obsession, paying the ultimate price. (Goodreads)


Review:

An extremely short story that really grabs you by the throat. Starts off creepy and ends that way. This painting is quite unique and totally evil as readers will see. Damon's obsession with the occult makes him the perfect candidate to own this painting. Horror fans will absolutely love this one. My only complaint is that this was way too short and I needed more.

Thursday, July 27, 2017

Review: The Sea King

The Sea King by C. L. Wilson
Weathermages of Mystral Book 2
Published October 31, 2017 by Avon
Reviewed by Janet
3 Mystical Stars



Synopsis: 

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Winter Kingcomes a breathtaking new tale of love and adventure set in the mystical land of Mystral...

He wasn't supposed to choose her...

Seafaring prince Dilys Merimydion has been invited to court the three magical princesses of Summerlea. To eradicate the pirates threatening Calberna and to secure the power of the Sea Throne, Dilys vows to return home with a fierce warrior-queen as his bride. But politics has nothing to do with unexpected temptation.

She didn't dare wed him...

A weathermage like her sisters, Gabriella Coruscate's gentleness exemplifies the qualities of her season name, Summer. Yet her quiet poise conceals dangerous powers she cannot begin to wield. Better to live without excitement, she reasons, than risk her heart and lose control— until an irresistible Sealord jolts her awake with a thunderclap of raw desire.

Until evil threatens everything they hold dear...

When pirates kidnap Summer and her sisters, Dilys is in a desperate quest to save the woman he loves. Only by combining his command of the seas with the unleashed fury of Summer's formidable gifts can they defeat their brutal enemies and claim the most priceless victory of all: true love. (Goodreads)


Review:

I'll start by saying that I have read other books by C.L. Wilson and loved them. The first chapter of this book is somewhat confusing with all the names and keeping track of who's who, that many new readers may not want to read any further. It does get better after that. The author did a wonderful job fleshing out the hero Dilys, and you can picture him vividly as one hunk of a male. The Seasons are a lovely group of three sisters who many suitors hope to covet but have not succeeded. While I enjoyed Summer as the main heroine, she was not my favorite as far as heroines go. The secondary characters held more appeal for me. Overall, this was entertaining and I would read this author again.

Review by Janet

From My Author Page...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GothicMoms Updates